From Winston

“At the heart of the debate about widening participation is the reality that, while not all students will have had equal preparation, family support or financial security, each one deserves and should expect that universities provide the best chance for them to succeed.”

Rhonda Hawkins The Australian July 25th 2012

“Doublethink means the power of holding two contradictory beliefs in one’s mind simultaneously, and accepting both of them.”
George Orwell 1984
Don’t worry Rhonda. I’m behind you. I’ll back you up. So go ahead and say whatever you like. You can rely on me to stand by your side in moments of crisis. I’ve heard some people peddling terrible lies in the corridors. They say that  UWS is doing everything on the cheap, that face-t0-face hours are being cut, class sizes increased, staff laid off, assessment ‘streamlined’ and standards dropped. But there will be none of that talk from me. Because after all we’re all in this together. I actually agree with you. I do. We have to present the best face to the world. And don’t worry. If word gets out and all the students run off to the other universities we can always have another restructure. More cuts more outsourcing. So it’s OK. We trust you. You’re safe. Our mission will not be compromised no matter what.
